John M. Gibson Award

Nominate a WCDPL Employee for the 2023 John M. Gibson Award

The Board of Trustees presents the John M. Gibson Outstanding Performance Award annually to a member of the WCDPL staff in recognition of excellence in the performance of their job.

John M. Gibson Award History

The John M. Gibson Award was initiated by the library’s Board of Trustees in 2005 to recognize excellence in customer service by WCDPL staff. Since then it has been presented annually by the Trustees, who select the recipient from nominations submitted by both library users and WCDPL staff members themselves. Any WCDPL employee (with the exceptions of the library director and deputy director) may be nominated for the Gibson award.

Angie Babcock won the 2022 Gibson Award.

Pictured from left: Trustees Becky Bhaer, Ken Frisch (President); 2022 Gibson recipient Angie Babcock; Trustees Mike Sibbersen, Brian Paskvan, and Greg Esposito.

The award was named after the late John M. Gibson in honor of his contributions to the library and his integral role in the library’s 2003 renovation. The award recipient and all nominees will be recognized by the Library Board of Trustees annually during National Library Week.

Past recipients of the Gibson Award are: Mandy Hackley ('05); Mary Callahan Boone ('06); AJ Heilman & Donna Mertz ('07); Deb Born ('08); Kristin Wetzel ('09); Linda Conrad ('10) Maria Simon ('11); Nancy Weiland ('12); Katherine Lawn ('13); Anne Render ('14); Matt Mehling ('15); Victoria (Vicki) Forgette Scanlan ('16);Tara Bahnsen ('17); JJ Hofner ('18); Kevin Puffer ('19); The Children's Place ('20); and Angie Babcock ('22).

Source URL: