John M. Gibson Award

Nominate a WCDPL Employee for the 2022 John M. Gibson Award

The Board of Trustees presents the John M. Gibson Outstanding Performance Award annually to a member of the WCDPL staff in recognition of excellence in the performance of their job. 

While the official review of nominations takes place approximately one month prior to the presentation of the Gibson award, nominations may be made at any time in person at WCDPL in Bowling Green, the Walbridge Library, or from the Bookmobile; online nominations may be submitted by using the form below.

Any library employee (except the library director and deputy director) may be nominated for the John Gibson Award. Nominations for the 2022 Award are due by Monday, September 12.

Please direct questions to Michael Penrod, Director, by calling (419) 352-5104 ext. 224. 

John M. Gibson Award History

The John M. Gibson Award was initiated by the library’s Board of Trustees in 2005 to recognize excellence in customer service by WCDPL staff. Since then it has been presented annually by the Trustees, who select the recipient from nominations submitted by both library users and WCDPL staff members themselves. Any WCDPL employee (with the exceptions of the library director and deputy director) may be nominated for the Gibson award.

2019 John Gibson Award recipient & board of trustees

Pictured from left: Trustees Ken Frisch, Ellen Dalton, Brian Paskvan (President); 2019 Gibson recipient Kevin Puffer; Trustees Chet Marcin & John Fawcett.

The award was named after the late John M. Gibson in honor of his contributions to the library and his integral role in the library’s 2003 renovation. The award recipient and all nominees will be recognized by the Library Board of Trustees annually during National Library Week.

Past recipients of the Gibson Award are: Mandy Hackley ('05); Mary Callahan Boone ('06); AJ Heilman & Donna Mertz ('07); Deb Born ('08); Kristin Wetzel ('09); Linda Conrad ('10) Maria Simon ('11); Nancy Weiland ('12); Katherine Lawn ('13); Anne Render ('14); Matt Mehling ('15); Victoria (Vicki) Forgette Scanlan ('16);Tara Bahnsen ('17); JJ Hofner ('18); and Kevin Puffer (2019).